Fort Wayne Komet History

The Fort Wayne Komets were established as a minor league hockey franchise in 1952. The Komets are one of the oldest franchises in minor league sports history. Ernie Berg started it in the summer of '52 thinking that Fort Wayne would be a great play for professional sports. Wow, was he right. In the Komets 63 year history, the Komets have played in 4 different leagues. (International Hockey League 1952-2001/ 2007-2010, United Hockey League 2002-2007, Central Hockey League 2010-2012 and currently the East Coast Hockey League). They have won a total of 9 championships. 7 Turner Cups (IHL), 1 Colonial Cup (UHL), 1 Presidents Cup (CHL). There first came in the 1962-1963 season when they defeated the Minneapolis Millers. In the 1964-1965 season the Komets did it again capturing their second championship in 3 years. Komet Hockey in the city of Fort Wayne continued to grow. The Komets Championship season were: 1962-63, 1964-65, 1973-74, 1992-93, 2002-03, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10 and 2011-2012. Perhaps the most historic run of championships came just recently when the Komets won three straight Turner Cup (IHL) Championships from 2008-2010. Only 3 other teams in the history of hockey in North America has won three straight championships. That includes the NHL. The Fort Wayne Komets are currently affiliated with the Lake Erie Monsters of the AHL and the Colorado Avalanche of the NHL. In the 63 full season of Komet hockey, the Komets have only missed the playoffs 9 times. There are currently 15 players that have had their jersey numbers retired and are in the Komet Hall of Fame. As hockey continues to grow in Fort Wayne, Indiana, the Komets continue to show their strengths as a top professional minor league hockey team in North America.
1993 IHL Turner Cup
#1 Pokey Reddick
2012 CHL Presidents Cup
#91 Colin Chaulk
2003 UHL Colonial Cup
#7 Bobby Stewart

1 comment: